Painting for September 22

september22
Face study no.14 – oil on canvas, 6″ x 8″

I must be moving up in the world because I’ve graduated from canvas boards/panels to actual stretched canvases!

This one looks better as a .jpeg than it does as a painting, for some reason.  I can’t say I’m incredibly happy with it, and that’s mostly because I think I started to treat the oil paint like watercolour*.  I was so focused on keeping the skin pale – knowing that if I made it too dark I wouldn’t be able to fix it later, because, y’know, OILS – that I may have made this painting a little linseed-heavy.  Consequently, I had tremendous trouble  painting her eyes, eyelids, and eyelashes.  Her hair is the only part of her which is actual meaty PAINT.

And ok, I may have exaggerated her wall-eyes.

Tomorrow: back to acrylics!

*Speaking of watercolours, I keep wondering if I should give them a go.  I’m at the halfway point in the “30 in 30” challenge, and quite frankly, I’m getting a little bored**, and may need to change things up a bit.

**But honestly, how much novelty was I expecting when I decided to paint women’s faces for 30 days?  Three eyes?  A nose growing out the top of her forehead??

Save

4 thoughts on “Painting for September 22

Leave a Reply

